And from the most emblematic square to the most important street. Calle Marqués de Larios is a street named in honour of Manuel Domingo Larios y Larios, II Marquis of Larios who developed the city’s textile industry during the 19th century. The first project for Calle Larios was made by the engineer José María Sancha, although it was later modified. This first draft featured a street that started, asit does now, from the Plaza de la Constitución, but then joined up with the streets Toril, Salinas, Desengaño (now Strachan), Plaza del Obispo, Sancha de Lara and San Juan de Dios.
The new street was inaugurated by Mayor Sebastian Souvirón Torres, on 27 August, 1891. The blessing was given by the bishop of the diocese, Marcelo Spínola y Maestre, later appointed archbishop of Seville. With the proclamation of the Second Republic in 1931, the street was renamed Calle 14 de abril, and the statue in homage to Larios was thrown into the sea. In its place was put the statue a workman who, until then, had been at the foot of the statue of the Marquis. After the end of the Guerra Civil and Franco’s victory, the name of the street reverted to its original form, while the statue of the marquis was rescued from the sea and reinstated, where it remains today, constituting one of the most iconic and instantly recognizable images of the city of Málaga.